Skip to content

Thing 07 Subscribing with RSS

14 December 2012
tags:
by
Positive image from a scan of a Powerhouse Museum, Tyrrell Collection, glass plate negative

Calmly reading the newspaper while the world comes to an end. From the Powerhouse collection: their photo-a-day feed (http://feeds.feedburner.com/PHM-PhotoOfTheDay) is a pleasant Thing to subscribe to.

I’m not a very conscientious user of my RSS reader, but I don’t feel it’s a bad thing to procrastinate over.

And now, of course, with the Mayan-inspired end of the world in a week or so, I may never get my feeds to ‘read’ anyway.

Speaking of which, fellow Thing travellers may be interested in the curation tool Scoop.it, which does allow you to use RSS feeds as several content sources. When you follow someone in Scoop.it, you receive a newsletter-format page of their ‘scoops’ – items that they have captured while reading the web, or re-scooped from others, or selected from the Scoop.it suggestion engine – with the idea that a human can be helped to find the best articles on their particular topic of interest via both social and automatic sources. (It’s free for personal use.) I don’t use it yet, but I’m going to, if the end of the world doesn’t come before I decide on what topic I want to curate.

Anyway, Scoop.it is putting a brave face on the coming apocalypse:

Scoop.it Unveils Newly Re-Designed Platform to Give Professionals and Business the Visibility They’ll Need to Survive in a Post-Apocalyptic Business EnvironmentScoop.it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 14 December 2012 4:08 pm

    Scoop it rocks! I love reading my daily email updates, and have learnt soooo much from this tool. You just have to create a topic!!!

  2. 17 December 2012 10:57 am

    There is so much in ScoopIt – I follow some people, but haven’t created my own. I think I prefer getting soemone else to curate stuff for me- like this guy….http://www.scoop.it/u/TDOttawa – altho his bio says K-12 I find heaps of great stuff here.
    And that’s where the web has become more about curation, sharing, collaborating – more than ever before!
    Love your sense of humour Penny and that pic!

  3. Tone permalink
    9 January 2013 1:39 pm

    You’re in luck, we’re still around! Now you can press on with other Things….

  4. Ryan Tracey permalink
    16 March 2013 11:21 am

    I’ve never gotten into ScoopIt, although I do enjoy other people’s scoops.

    For RSS, I’ve never had the discipline to use an RSS reader either. I just felt overwhelmed by it all. The last thing I wanted was for my learning to become a chore.

    So I use Twitterfeed to re-route my RSS subscriptions into tweets which I follow. If I see them during the course of my daily tweeting, good-o. If not, oh well, the earth still turns.

Leave a Reply

