Skip to content

Thing 04 – Blogs and blogging

18 November 2012
artwork of christmas tree made out of found objects

‘Christmas Tree’, by Merrick Fry. From the exhibition ‘Deck the Walls’, Stella Downer Fine Art, Nov-Dec 2012

* About setting up this blog

This blog was started in 2009 but its first year was spent living at edublogs and I migrated it over to WordPress when it stopped being a formal part of my uni study.

I chose WordPress then because I loved the styles of some WordPress blogs, the white space and the typography, but if I was starting today (and this is a tip for my 23Things colleagues) I would use Blogger. In part, this would be because of the great Javascript display options that come built in (as exploited in Steve Wheeler’s Learning with ‘e’s), but also because of its dashboard, which I think puts your own blog inside the conversations of others. I should certainly add more to my blogroll, down on the right-hand side of this page: the singular one I have at the moment, by Ryan Tracey, I actually read when I get it in my email, as I do, for example, with others from my random jumble of interests, e.g.:

I don’t regularly go and read people’s blogs, although I would like to read the ones that I have subscribed to in Blogger, which include:

  • Hannahland – this blog was a drafting space for a historian’s PhD – her graduation was just 2 weeks ago!
  • eGov AU – by Craig Thomler, how Australian governments are using Web 2.0 tools
  • Jonathan Powles – who was until recently a lecturer in the ANU School of Music

* About writing on this blog

I think there are 2 hard things about writing blogs:

  1. Regularity – this is something I would like to try to use this 23Things round to improve my habit
  2. Audience – writing blogs is really for yourself, but it is surprising and pleasant if people do read them, and to think that your work will never be read can be very demotivating

So I look forward to everyone finishing their busy time, and registering their 23Things blogs, so I can read them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 November 2012 9:25 am

    Good tips re WordPress and Blogger.
    I see your list of blogs and see some familiar ones- I really enjoy Steve Wheeler’s blog 🙂
    Your comment on the audience for your blog is a valid one- hopefully other 23 Things participants will read other participant blogs- the program works so much better if people are reading and sharing and commenting along the way. Tagging your posts also helps with searchability….

    Interesting mix of blogs…..I wonder how you follow….we’ll look more at RSS- subscribing and organisng in a few *things* time

  2. 19 November 2012 11:24 am

    hi, I know what you mean about Blogger – I found it easier too. I did 23Things a couple of years ago and found it very useful. You’ve made a good start so keep going!
    PS I like your Christmas tree…

  3. Alison permalink
    19 November 2012 12:54 pm

    Thanks, Penny! I hadn’t heard of edublogs. Your link enabled me to check out the site. Is there an easy way to “migrate” from one blog to another, or was there a lot of copying and pasting involved?! I’m also familiar with WordPress, and chose it because of the “look” (I’m a big fan of white space too!). But I found your points about Blogger interesting. And thanks for the eGov AU link. I will be passing that onto a colleague.

    • 19 November 2012 5:07 pm

      Hi Alison, glad that was of interest. It was simple but nerve-wracking to export the blog from one platform to the other – I followed the instructions carefully, but it all slotted into place fine. You take all the posts out as a single file. It is I think similar to what we should be doing to back up a blog, which is something you should always do, but I never have.

Leave a Reply

